About The Fools

Witnessing the absence of proper Twelfth Night merrymaking on the Northshore, the St. John Fools of Misrule was formed to announce the arrival of the Carnival season to St. Tammany Parish. The organization’s rituals are derived from an ancient English men’s group that clamored along the evening streets creating unruliness with cowbells and whips while delivering jeers and spankings to those caught on the street unaware. The Fools of Misrule integrated into its name homage to the historic St. John District of old Covington (1813) where the group was founded and annually conducts its bawdy procession

UPCOMING EVENTS

2019

Tuesday, March 5

Carnival in Covington Parade

10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Columbia

Saturday, March 16

FOOLS in Celtic Parade

12:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Seiler Bar Courtyard

Monday, April 1

April FOOLS Day

5:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Columbia St. Tap Room

Sunday, April 14

Spring Crawfish Boil

2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Columbia St. Tap Room

Friday, May 10

FOOLS on Friday

5:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Columbia St. Tap Romm

Saturday, June 15

8th Annual Dive Bar Tour

10:00 am – 8:00 pm
TBA

Friday, July 19

FOOLS on Friday

5:00 am – 9:00 pm
St. John Stroll

Saturday, July 27

Jay Saux Pirate Party
5:00 am – 9:00 pm
Columbia St. Tap Room

Saturday, August 17

White Linen for Public Art
6:00 am – 10:00 pm
Downtown Covington

Friday, September 20

FOOLS on Friday
5:00 am – 8:00 pm
TBA

Saturday, October 19

Cochon de Lait
2:00 am – 6:00 pm
TBA

Sunday, November 17

Annual General Meeting
6:00 am – 8:00 pm
Boge Falaya Hall

Sunday, December 15

FOOLS Christmas Party
6:00 am – 9:00 pm
Columbia St. Tap Room
2020

Sunday, January 11

9th Feast of FOOLS and March
4:00 am – 10:00 pm
St. John District

Contact us:

Calico Jack AKA Mark Verret
434 N. Columbia St. Suite H2O
Covington, La 70433
504-615-9655
CalicoJack@FoolsOfMisrule.com